BBO Discussion Forums: What's going on? - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

What's going on? Overcalling GIB

Poll: Overcalling GIB (22 member(s) have cast votes)

What's your call as South

1. pass (16 votes [72.73%] - View)

Percentage of vote: 72.73%

2. double (0 votes [0.00%])

Percentage of vote: 0.00%

3. 1 spade (5 votes [22.73%] - View)

Percentage of vote: 22.73%

4. 2 spades (0 votes [0.00%])

5. 2 clubs (0 votes [0.00%])

6. something else (1 votes [4.55%] - View)

Percentage of vote: 4.55%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 User is offline   pilowsky 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2020-September-04, 06:21

WHAT'S YOUR CALL - take the poll. Posted Image

I was just playing a few hands in Prime against the robots after crashing in a daylong - again. When this hand came up.

Since I started playing Bridge, I've noticed a lot of people bidding a weak 2 with a (SH/minors) 52/42 or a 51/43 hand shape or the other way round for . In addition to the regular 6 of a suit.
I've also noticed that the robots are happy to interfere Cappelletti-style with only 4 of a major on this type of hand shape.
So I thought I'd have a go myself. This style of preempting seems excellent for online Bridge since the player bidding does the alerting.

Anyway, here I'm playing at IMP's presumably against advanced GIB.

The following auction occurs and the robots make 6 because I misdefend.

So I saved the hand and moved to a teaching table in the Prime area to see if I could do better.
This time GIB bids the hand completely differently! Instead of the 4 bid East bids 4.

So, I move into the East seat and replicate the original bidding, and let GIB fight it out amongst itself. The result was not pretty.
Remember the scene in that Aliens film when two big aliens kill the little one to … well, you get the idea.