#41 User is offline   babalu1997 

• Duchess of Malaprop
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:i am not interested

Posted 2011-August-09, 09:02

View Postkenberg, on 2011-August-07, 16:31, said:

When the whip goes down:

I have agrees to teach a class this fall for students who will not have a strong background. Putting theory to the test I looked at a couple of Khan's videos, thinking that maybe I could make good use of them. So far, no. I'll browse some more, but so far I see them as not bad, but not so good that I want to get students to spend time with them.

In the past there have been some handouts for this class written by others. I have looked at them. I won't be using them. Not every add-on is helpful.

When I was an undergrad I took a course in electricity and magnetism that used the world's most boring text. So I got another, I think better, text. BUT! I now had the lectures, the assigned text, and the new text I bought, and I had to somehow integrate all of this. Not for the fainthearted.

Maybe I'm just not with it, but I think the core will be my lectures, the text, and the homework problems. There will be office hours for questions, with me and with my assistants, and I answer questions by e-mail. I take questions in class. I hang around after class. I recommend that the students get with the program.

That is so true, not every add-on is helpful.

I have often looked at materials such as khan's, sometimes videos on utube and so on. I find them really tedious, some blackboard and a ghost talking about them quadratic equations, i cant ask questions, if i were a student, i would consider that punishment.

It is rare to see some school curriculum or program that actually tells students: hey kid, you are free to think and figure things out for yourself. Go to wikipeadia and bring questions to me instead of goging to mr. khan. But some teachers think it is too hard to be exposed to random questions.