• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Good bid!

#421 User is offline   ggwhiz 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2010-August-04, 10:29

The moment I run into a flaccid wiggling pool of gelatinous goo, I'm going to say "Josh?"

And I agree with the theory that the K may have been flashed as an explanation for the bid.

When I started playing, I didn't always hold my cards up. What are the obligations when declarer saw my stiff king off-side? What are Howards obligations if it was an OPPONENT who flashed this card while dealing?

I personally would ask for a re-shuffle but I don't depend on Bridge to pay the rent.
When a deaf person goes to court is it still called a hearing?
What is baby oil made of?

#422 User is offline   mikeh 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge, golf, wine (red), cooking, reading eclectically but insatiably, travelling, making bad posts.

Posted 2010-August-04, 10:38

jdonn, on Aug 4 2010, 10:47 AM, said:

mikeh, on Aug 4 2010, 10:42 AM, said:

As humans we tend to leap to conclusions on gut instinct and biases. I suspect, as others have suggested, that if the 6 call had been made by one of the game's respected superstars, and it had worked, there would a huge writeup but of an entirely, laudatory nature.

Mike I can't believe you really think this is true! You are just way too smart to post something so laughable.

If Bob Hamman (substitute favorite superstar who you think has the lowest % chance of cheating) made this bid, I would be sure he had pulled the wrong card. If he denied it I would still be sure and assume he was denying it out of pride or for some other reason.

Of course it's all completely moot, a bridge superstar would never make this bid other than pulling the wrong card. I can't even decide whether it's a worse strategy if cheating or a worse strategy (bridgewise) if not cheating.