BBO Discussion Forums: Introducing...Shannon Cappelletti! - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Introducing...Shannon Cappelletti! Profile on her

#1 User is offline   Rain 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2008-August-14, 17:11

This is a profile of Shannon. I'll be putting it in lobby news, but it's too long to include there, so as usual, linking to here. It's a semi-interview.
-------------------

My mom has always loved bridge and is a really good player. I caddied until I was about 18. As the child of avid bridge players, I was frequently overheard pouting "I am never going to play bridge."

About 15 years ago, I started playing in college and enrolled in a series of lessons at the club nearby in Chattanooga. I was lucky enough to have some people in the class that were my age and we immediately bonded & started playing together. My mother was instrumental in teaching me individually and my group collectively.

When a friend and I were playing at a Regional in Gatlingburg, TN (0-5 Swiss Team event), I met Mike Cappelletti, Jr. He & I started dating &
eventually became partners, both at & away from the bridge table. I won my
first national title with Mike, the Mixed Pairs in Vancouver in 1999.

When I am not playing professionally at National & Regionals throughout the
year, I have students that I give private lessons to or play with. I really enjoy all facets of bridge, both the teaching and the playing. It is so fulfilling when you are teaching someone who finally "gets it" , i.e.
counting out a hand, deducing from bids the opponents did (or did not) make, who might have the missing high-card strength, etc.

The Cappellettis are a well known bridge family, and I was lucky to be included in the family. They are also known for poker. I have tried poker, but laugh too much when I get a good hand.

I have enjoyed my bridge career immensely, but it is most important to have