I recently revived a username I had years ago and found many former "Friends" some of whom I am no longer interested in.
I do like to have notifications about (current) friends logging in and this causes me disturbance.
How can I delete the friendship, preferably without causing offence?
The only obvious mechanism is to click on their profile, which offers me "Relationship: Follow/Neutral/Ignore".
I do not wish to "Ignore" them and "Neutral" does not cancel the friendship.
Page 1 of 1
Deleting Friends
#2
Posted Yesterday, 15:51
Marking them neutral will cancel the friendship from your side so you should not receive notifications when they log in.
Unless they are your regular partner, then I doubt they'll worry too much especially if they haven't heard from this old username for some considerable time.
Unless they are your regular partner, then I doubt they'll worry too much especially if they haven't heard from this old username for some considerable time.
#3
Posted Yesterday, 16:15
paulg, on 2026-October-23, 15:51, said:
Marking them neutral will cancel the friendship from your side so you should not receive notifications when they log in.
Thanks. I do recall receiving notifications just after making them neutral, but maybe I am wrong or it only takes effect next login. I'll give it a few days and see.
I would suggest to BBO that if follow and friend are the same thing then use only one of the two terms.
#4
Posted Today, 00:40
pescetom, on 2026-October-23, 15:34, said:
I do not wish to "Ignore" them and "Neutral" does not cancel the friendship.
There's a quirk in the system where 'neutral' doesn't seem to work - the term 'propagating to the server' - comes to mind.
But it could be something else.
A workaround is to 'ignore' for a minute or two and then switch to neutral.
#5
Posted Today, 02:20
a_user, on 2026-October-24, 00:40, said:
There's a quirk in the system where 'neutral' doesn't seem to work - the term 'propagating to the server' - comes to mind.
But it could be something else.
A workaround is to 'ignore' for a minute or two and then switch to neutral.
But it could be something else.
A workaround is to 'ignore' for a minute or two and then switch to neutral.
Thanks, that sounds quite likely, I'll try the workaround.
Probably the tournament is on a different server to Profile and so there may be a propagation delay, even in these days of virtualisation.
I had a similar issue when I first logged in with the old username and couldn't change the setting 'Picture of cards' for quite a while.
Page 1 of 1

Help
