• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Book Reviews

#236 User is offline   jikl 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2006-August-24, 17:27

Has anyone reviewed "Fair Play or Foul?" by Cathy Chua yet?

Sean

#237 User is offline   ArcLight 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Rowing. Wargaming. Military history.

Posted 2006-September-15, 14:59

How to Play Card Combinations by Mike Lawrence.

I first read it over 2 years ago, when I had been playing Bridge for all of 3 months. I thought it was ok back then. I liked it much more the second time.

The book focuses on how to play some common card combinations. This isn't a book about safety plays. Rather its about how to make your contract and how to play some combination so as to provide an extra trick.

A x x opposite J 9 x
A x opposite Q T

The reader is presented with the bidding and the declarers and dummies hands.
As the hand is played, you are asked questions about card placement based on the cards played, how they are played, and the bidding.

Excellent book for Intermediates.
I also found it amusing with some dry quips here and there about pards bidding or the opponents.

#238 User is offline   ArcLight 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2006-September-28, 07:01

All 52 Cards by Miles Marshall

Acording to the book jacket it was a classic in the early 60's. Compared to todays Bridge books on Deductive reasoning I don't think its stood the test of time. It has some good tidbits here and there, but overall I don't think it anything special. It's more advanced than "How to Read Your opponents Cards" so intermediates may not get much out of it. Advanced players maye consider it average, lets say C+ (by todays standards).
Maybe 40 years ago when there were no books on the subject it would be considered very good.

Inferences at Bridgeby Miles Marshall