BBO Discussion Forums: Patching the holes in a transfer system - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Patching the holes in a transfer system

#1 User is offline   helene_t 

• The Abbess
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2020-February-09, 17:23

I have sympathy for shape-first systems, such as Boring Club which I have been playing wigth Shogi for many years: 1 is 12-19 balanced, 1NT is 11-20 unbalanced with clubs.

I thought of taking it a bit further, getting rid of the strong artificial (or multi with strong options) openings while allowing lighter opening with 5-card majors:

1: 12-22 balanced
1: 8+, 5+ hearts
1: 8+, 5+ spades
1: 12+, unbalanced with primarily clubs
1NT: 12+, unbalanced with primarily diamonds
2: 12+, any 4441 and presumably 5m440

The most unplayable part of this may be the 1NT opening. The responses could for example be:
2: weak, to play opposite both minors. Wants to hear the second suit so will be 333+ in the non-diamond suit or some 2-suiter without diamonds.
2: weak, to play opposite any 12-16
2: 8-11 points with 3+ hearts, to play opposite a minimum with four hearts
2: GF relay
2NT: invitational with 5-5 majors?
3: invitational with 3+ diamonds
3: preempt
3/: invitational

This is all a bit cramped. I would like to make the 2 response forcing for one round by taking the (31)54, 12-16 hands out of the 1NT opening. Maybe put them into the 2 opening? That could lead to some 3-3 fits after the 2 opening but is maybe worth it.

Another issue is the 23+ balanced hands. Playing T-Walsh, we have a.o.
1: 4-7 or 11+ balanced w/o 4cM, and some unbalanced hands
1NT: 8-10.

I am not sure if it is playable to put the 23+ hands in the 1 opening (unless with switch to Polish-like responses?), and besides I like to play it as non-forcing so opps can't play pass-can-be-strong-so-direct-can-be-very-weak against it.