Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Directing play with screens

#1 User is offline   pescetom 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2020-January-15, 08:30

After a year of directing local pairs tournaments, this weekend I get to direct my first teams tournament between clubs. The biggest challenge I see is that it will be played behind screens - I have little experience of screens as a player, and none as a director.
Do more experienced directors here have any good advice in this regard? Obviously I will study our regulations about screens, which is about three pages long. But is there some situation which comes up frequently and is quite different compared to the equivalent without screens? Things to watch out for, things not to worry about?
Thanks for any help you can give.

#2 User is offline   axman 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2020-January-15, 10:43

View Postpescetom, on 2020-January-15, 08:30, said:

After a year of directing local pairs tournaments, this weekend I get to direct my first teams tournament between clubs. The biggest challenge I see is that it will be played behind screens - I have little experience of screens as a player, and none as a director.
Do more experienced directors here have any good advice in this regard? Obviously I will study our regulations about screens, which is about three pages long. But is there some situation which comes up frequently and is quite different compared to the equivalent without screens? Things to watch out for, things not to worry about?
Thanks for any help you can give.

I think it would help the players the most that they understand irregularities that do not cross the screen, and the forfeiture provisions of calling attention to UI created on their own side of the screen.

perhaps a ten minute lecture an hour before the first session?

#3 User is offline   sanst 

• PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2020-January-15, 10:47