BBO Discussion Forums: Could 6NT demonstrably have been suggested - BBO Discussion Forums

• 3 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Could 6NT demonstrably have been suggested Law 16B

#21 User is offline   Cyberyeti 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2019-February-07, 09:44

OK, their convoluted agreements make this more awkward. I have no experience with this sort of system.

4N cannot be straight blackwood sensibly when an ace has been denied. I'd be inclined to bid that, and partner should bid 6 where we would rest for a touch above average, and would be the right spot from W's POV if E was lacking Q.

#22 User is offline   sanst 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2019-February-07, 10:19

View PostCyberyeti, on 2019-February-06, 13:50, said:

There is no way in this world I'm passing 4, I don't even consider it, but it is possible to stop short of a slam.

Why? What makes you think that your hand is worth more than you’ve already shown? Partner can be without values and only have a long hearts suit. Or are you a descendant of king Charles II, who, according to Jenny Uglow in her book on the Restoration, was ‘A Gambling Man’. :)
Joost

#23 User is offline   lamford 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2019-February-07, 10:30

I don't think anything is suggested, nor, more relevantly, demonstrably suggested. All the slow 4H bid tells West is that East was thinking of bidding something else.
I prefer to give the lawmakers credit for stating things for a reason - barmar

#24 User is online   pescetom 

Posted 2019-February-07, 10:54

View Postsanst, on 2019-February-07, 09:39, said:

Why would W expect any values at all? Passing in NT with a long suit and no values means that there are no tricks to be made, whereas there are in a suit contract.