#1 User is offline   hrothgar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Travel
    Cooking
    Brewing
    Hiking

Posted 2018-December-28, 12:21

I am a quite good cook. (By which I mean that good professional cooks have let me cook/serve dishes in their restaurants)
Of all my recipes, this is widely considered to be one of the very best.

Richard’s Flan Recipe
The following might look complicated. It certainly requires a bit of equipment and (ideally) some planning.
Equipment

1. Immersion circulator
2. ½ pint wide mouth canning jars (I am fond of https://smile.amazon...e?ie=UTF8&psc=1 )

Ingredients (to make ~ nine flan)

• Custard base
o 750 gm whole milk
o 500 gm heavy cream
o 250 gm sugar
o 250 gm whole duck eggs
o 125 gm duck egg yolks
o 4 gm salt
o Saffron (to taste)
o Vanilla paste (to taste)

• Caramel
o 350 gm sugar
o Nam phrik phao (Thai roasted chili paste)

• Topping
o Malden salt (to taste)

Directions

To make THIS type of nam phrik

1. Heat a couple cups of neutral oil in a large work
2. Get yourself a few handfuls of dried dundicuts, habaneros, or birds eye chilis.
3. Throw some chilis into the heated oil; stirring and flipping constantly. You want to darken the chilis but not burn them
4. Remove and then repeat until all your chilis are fried
5. Grind chilis in a mortar, mix in a small amount of sesame oil for flavor. (Some people say add oil until the chili paste has the consistency of peanut butter. I think this is too wet)

Prepare custard base:

1. Heat a water bath to 176 degrees farenheit
2. Crush your saffron threads
3. Place milk, cream, vanilla paste, and saffron in a storage bag and seal
4. Place dairy into the water bath to heat
5. Mix sugar, salt, duck eggs, and duck egg yolks in a large bowl
6. Whisk until smooth
7. When dairy has reached temperature, cut open the bag.