BBO Discussion Forums: why are good hands so hard to bid properly - BBO Discussion Forums

• 3 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

why are good hands so hard to bid properly how does north proceed

#1 User is offline   gszes 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2018-September-04, 05:44

A close team match with partner occasionally complaining that you have been overworking your pass card (so what's new) when one of your best hands of the day arrives
. You're on how do you proceed and why. If this belongs in another forum please put it there but I will be surprised if opinions are unanimous.

#2 User is online   pescetom 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2018-September-04, 05:59

I would probably have bid 3 rather than 2NT, but then I'm no expert and 2NT did work out well.
Now I would bid 4. It tells South pretty much what he needs to know and I don't have much alternative anyway.
If there are other fit-showing bids that I am not using, all the better.

#3 User is offline   steve2005 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge duh!

Posted 2018-September-04, 06:20

Qx is gold in opener's 1st suit.
Sarcasm is a state of mind

#4 User is online   pescetom 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2018-September-04, 06:57

View Poststeve2005, on 2018-September-04, 06:20, said:

Qx is gold in opener's 1st suit.

I guess a lot depends upon how you play 2 2 3 and (2) 2NT for that matter.
For us 2 2 2 is unlikely to go far with this hand, and a warning does little harm.

#5 User is online   Cyberyeti 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2018-September-04, 07:09

When you say 2 was waiting, would 2 have been double negative ?

In cheating LOL bridge, this is an obvious stop 4.

#6 User is offline   The_Badger 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge, Chess, Film, Literature, Herbal Medicine, Nutrition

Posted 2018-September-04, 08:07