BBO Discussion Forums: When would you redouble here? - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

When would you redouble here?

#1 User is offline   ahydra 

  • AQT92 AQ --- QJ6532
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,686
  • Joined: 2009-September-09
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2018-August-15, 05:50

After something like (1S)-2C-(X negative), with what sort of hand do you redouble? Is SOS a common agreement here?

The full story involves us going for 2000, so get the popcorn ready.

ahydra
0

#2 User is offline   wank 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,843
  • Joined: 2008-July-13

Posted 2018-August-15, 07:57

XX should be inviting partner to compete to 3C. something like a balanced 9 count.
1

#3 User is online   cherdano 

  • 5555
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 8,786
  • Joined: 2003-September-04
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2018-August-15, 08:11

There is no such a thing as a SOS-redouble at the 2-level before they have even made a penalty double or penalty pass.

This specific double is rarely passed anyway.
The egos of bridge players seem to be larger than that of the general population. Which is actually pretty strange, when one considers how humbling a game it is... Michael Rosenberg
2

#4 User is offline   helene_t 

  • The Abbess
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 15,758
  • Joined: 2004-April-22
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Hamilton, New Zealand

Posted 2018-August-15, 16:09

You could play Rozenkrants (sp?) here. But maybe Wank's treatment is better.

SOS with something like 2(56)0 makes some sense but doesn't come up frequently enough to worry about. Besides, partner may have nowhere to run to. And even if 2X is not our optimal contract, LHO hasn't left it in yet.
... most of the new ideas I get are pretty "boring", mostly focusing on constructive methods rather than destructive ones --- Kungsgeten
1

#5 User is offline   ahydra 

  • AQT92 AQ --- QJ6532
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,686
  • Joined: 2009-September-09
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2018-August-16, 03:44

Thanks all. This is what I thought, but a good player at the club said otherwise. It came up in a discussion on this hand:



where after p-p-(1S)-2C; X partner could apparently SOS XX to show this. But to me that seems silly - partner is in fact quite likely to hold only a club suit, it won't get left in except if opener has a trump stack (and even then his trumps are under yours), and Rosenkrantz or just values is going to come up much more often.

The actual auction is somewhat NSFW - put the kids to bed before reading on:



Team-mates had the much more sensible auction (1S)-2C-(p)-p; (2H)-3C-all p, quietly down one. (East was 2245)

ahydra
0

#6 User is offline   HardVector 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: 2018-May-28

Posted 2018-August-25, 11:05

View Postahydra, on 2018-August-15, 05:50, said:

After something like (1S)-2C-(X negative), with what sort of hand do you redouble? Is SOS a common agreement here?

The full story involves us going for 2000, so get the popcorn ready.

ahydra

The negative double is getting pulled 95+% of the time, so there is no need for SOS. XX should show something in clubs, probably honor doubleton encouraging partner to lead the suit if they wind up in nt.
0

#7 User is offline   rmnka447 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,244
  • Joined: 2012-March-18
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:Bridge, Golf, Soccer

Posted 2018-August-25, 21:22

Even if Rdbl is SOS, why would South ever Rdbl with the East hand?

South is looking at 5 and already knows the hand is a gross misfit because of West's opening 1 bid. Partner has made a vulnerable 2 level overcall, so can't exactly be overcalling on trash, especially in a team game. And as has been pointed out, the double is negative and highly unlikely to be passed out.

South just has to observe the first rule of misfits and get out of the auction as quickly and cheaply as possible by passing. If North's 2 overcall gets hammered for a 500 or worse so be it. South's actual 2 bid on xxxx is from outer space.

I completely agree with ahydra about South not taking any action.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users