Turbo - Odd or Even which is better

#1 User is offline   dokoko 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:Bidding System Design
    Walking my dogs
    2 player Hanabi

Posted 2017-July-18, 11:24

I started playing Kickback Turbo with my regular partner several months ago.

This is a method combining cuebidding and KC showing. A special bid in a cuebidding sequence is defined as "Turbo bid"; this bid shows (depending on agreement) an even or an odd number of keycards. A cuebid bypassing the Turbo bid shows the other parity and a specific control. The original version (by Fantunes) used 4NT as the Turbo bid, today AFAIK 4Trump+1 is more popular.

Other things being equal, it is immateriel which parity is shown by the Turbo bid. But experience tells that in bridge other things are rarely equal. I wonder whether there are technical reasons to prefer one option to the other.

You are invited to share your ideas and/or experiences.

#2 User is offline   P_Marlowe 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2017-July-18, 12:50

View Postdokoko, on 2017-July-18, 11:24, said:

I started playing Kickback Turbo with my regular partner several months ago.

This is a method combining cuebidding and KC showing. A special bid in a cuebidding sequence is defined as "Turbo bid"; this bid shows (depending on agreement) an even or an odd number of keycards. A cuebid bypassing the Turbo bid shows the other parity and a specific control. The original version (by Fantunes) used 4NT as the Turbo bid, today AFAIK 4Trump+1 is more popular.

Other things being equal, it is immateriel which parity is shown by the Turbo bid. But experience tells that in bridge other things are rarely equal. I wonder whether there are technical reasons to prefer one option to the other.

You are invited to share your ideas and/or experiences.

the lowest bid should have the highest frequency.
asking partner about key cards implies, that we expect him
to have keycards.