BBO Discussion Forums: Bridge novice here - how to practice and improve? - BBO Discussion Forums

• 3 Pages +

Bridge novice here - how to practice and improve?

#21 User is offline   trumpmaven 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2015-December-16, 10:53

Another wonderful book is Watsons' Play of the hand

#22 User is offline   Caitlynne 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2015-December-16, 11:28

deftist, on 2015-December-15, 04:31, said:

Hello all,

I just started playing bridge about a week ago. I am a professional poker player and some of the elements transfer from poker to bridge, but for now I'd say I can barely spell bridge.

I find this game fascinating though, and would like to improve as fast as I can through practice. What should I do? So far, here's what I have been doing:

- Read "bridge for dummies" and "25 conventions you should know"
- Downloaded "Learn to play bridge" series from BBO website and gone through the drills
- Played a bunch of instant tournaments on BBO + games with 3 robots for plugging obvious leaks in my bidding and learning from other players

I was wondering if this is a correct way of learning bridge. Maybe I should start posting some hands that I was unsure of? Also, does it help to have a long-term partner in this game so that we can learn, improve and play together? (I am assuming it is.)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot in advance!

#23 User is offline   Caitlynne 

• PipPipPipPip

Posted 2015-December-16, 11:30

If you can afford individual instruction, that is best. But - and this is really important - you need to find an genuine expert (this does NOT mean a pro) who is a really good teacher. This is hard to find, but if you message me, I can recommend a fantastic teacher.

#24 User is offline   kuhchung 

• PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2015-December-16, 11:33