Warsaw?

#21 User is offline   Fluffy 

• World International Master without a clue
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2012-November-19, 07:40

View PostTrinidad, on 2012-November-18, 08:43, said:

Why?
South has already shown 5 of his 7 clubs. He has shown 0 of his 4 hearts. He has only shown a four card major. To me it makes sense that 2 is a forcing way to find out what the major is (rather then by making a pass or correct bid).

The only possible LA to 3 that I can imagine would be 4: showing the heart suit and logically implying extra club length. But since I would expect 3 to be GF too, I could imagine that you would require a maximum (or a minimum) for this kind of specific jump.

Rik

Yeah, 4 looks right if it shows extra clubs, I'm not an expert on raptor, but bidding my AK10xxxx again looks very promising as well, partner knows I have 4cM somewhere so can bid p/c 4M if he wants.

#22 User is offline   iviehoff 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-November-19, 07:42

View Postpran, on 2012-November-18, 16:13, said:

I shall always explain my partner's calls as if I never heard any of his explanations during the auction.

You are permitted to use UI to assist you in ensuring you give the correct explanation of your partner's bids. That is different from the dW approach where one uses UI to help you give an incorrect explanation of partner's bids, for the purposes of concealing a bidding misunderstanding from the opposition, and reducing the transmission of UI.

#23 User is offline   mr1303 

• Admirer of Walter the Walrus
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge, surfing, water skiing, cricket, golf. Generally being outside really.

Posted 2012-November-19, 07:55

Apparently I explained partner's 2D as a transfer to hearts. That sounds fairly blatant to me.

#24 User is offline   pran 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-November-19, 08:34

View Postiviehoff, on 2012-November-19, 07:42, said: