BBO Discussion Forums: how important is it to count winners at the start - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

how important is it to count winners at the start

#1 User is offline   nemojames3 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2011-December-10, 13:20

I am a complete beginner although have been using bridge baron for a while and so have a general idea how to play. The other software I am using to teach me tells me that as soon as the dummy is shown I have to count all the sure winners and work out how many extra tricks I need. How important is this as it does seem a bit of a chore when all I want to do is get stuck in. Surely if you just aim to win as many tricks as possible then calculating them in advance is not neccesary ?

#2 User is offline   ggwhiz 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2011-December-10, 13:27

There are plenty of Bridge column hands including the one I got in my paper today that show why this is necessary.

You have Ax opposite Kx in the suit they lead against 3nt and have to decide which side suit to attack at trick 2. The one that will produce the most tricks goes down on a bad break when the other cinches the contract.

It's painful at first but well worth it and will become more and more auto if you invest the energy.

Try Louis Watson, Play of the Hand. It's about how to play IMP Bridge instead of Matchpoints, to my mind a more interesting form of the game.

Don't limit yourself to gonzo Bridge.
When a deaf person goes to court is it still called a hearing?
What is baby oil made of?

#3 User is offline   markyears 

• PipPip

Posted 2011-December-10, 20:13