BBO Discussion Forums: No trump range in a strong club system - BBO Discussion Forums

• 3 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

No trump range in a strong club system

#1 User is offline   OSH 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2010-May-11, 00:30

In my regular partnership, I'm playing:
1NT = (12) 13-15 HCP balanced
1 = 16+ (bal and non bal, of course)

I've been playing this for 3/4 years, I'm quite happy and big changes are not needed, but:
- 1NT opening tends to become 12-15, sometimes 11+/15, a too wide range;
- 90% of the field plays 1NT = 15-17 HCP, and when the opener has exactly 15 HCP I tend to score badly and, in any case, to play against the field.

Due to this, I would like to play 1NT = 12-14. I strongly prefer 1 to be natural and unbalanced, and all opening beyond 2 are not available for balanced hands, so the questions are:

1) How do you handle the 15 HCP balanced hand in the strong club opening? What is the range of 1 reply? Do you have other non-GF responses?
2) Do you have any experience (or, well, any idea) in playing a 18/20 balanced hand in the Multi 2? I know someone plays it, despite it seems a bit risky.

Thank you,
Marco

#2 User is offline   gwnn 

• Csaba the Hutt
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:bye

Posted 2010-May-11, 00:55

I like 12-14 with a 15+ 1C opening. It works. There is a little crowdedness when you want tobresolvr the exact ranges of balanced hands but not a lot.

awm proposed that 1C be 15+ balanced or 16+ unbalanced, in stark contrast to expert practice, he argued that this way you can assume as responder that the 1C opener has a strong NT for a practical approximation because opener is overwhelmingly likely to be 15-17 balanced.
... and I can prove it with my usual, flawless logic.
      George Carlin

#3 User is offline   Free 

• mmm Duvel
  • Interests:Duvel, Whisky

Posted 2010-May-11, 00:58