• 3 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Using GIB when adjusting scores Could, should, and would

#1 User is offline   fred 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2009-August-27, 08:37

Computer software advances over the years have, by and large, made it easier for TDs to do their jobs well. For example, when I started playing bridge, scoring matchpoint games was done by hand and this was a stressful, time-consuming, and error-prone process for many TDs. The development of scoring software has resulted in TDs not having to get involved in this anymore. Life has become better for both TDs and players as a result.

However, one relatively recent software development, that of fast double dummy solvers (like GIB) and the integration of such software into programs like BBO gives me cause for concern. I am concerned because correspondence with both TDs and players in BBO tournaments suggests to me that some TDs do not really understand what GIB is all about and depend far too heavily on GIB to help them to make scoring adjustments.

The purpose of this post is to try to explain my thoughts on this subject. It should be noted that I am neither a TD nor am I am expert in the Laws. For those of you who don't know me, what I am is a very experienced bridge player and one of the people who runs BBO.

It should also be noted that BBO generally does not get involved in how TDs of free tournaments do their jobs. If you are a TD of a free tournament and if you care about running tournaments that are as fair as possible, then you should probably read and pay attention to what follows. But we recognize that free TDs are volunteers and we greatly appreciate the time and effort they contribute to making BBO a better place for our members. Thus, if free TDs want to ignore what follows and continue to rely heavily on GIB to make their lives easier, that is their business.