• You cannot reply to this topic

Moneybridge vs. GIB Why...?

#41 User is offline   Free 

• mmm Duvel
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Duvel, Whisky

Posted 2009-June-19, 03:07

@Han: I have a master in computer science. Over the years we had at least 4 courses which included different kinds of logic and probability calculations. For these courses I had 12, 14, 15 and 16. These were actually the better scores of my entire studies. Since you can't stand me, I'm sure you won't believe this.

So, while I know what I'm talking about, and while is said like 10 times that I know that in the long run it cancels out, it doesn't cancel out in short games of about 10 boards.

Switching sides and who has more HCP is similar to flipping a coin and guessing what it is. This is also similar to flipping 2 coins at the same time and see if they match (this case I actually got in one of the courses). You have 4 possible results, 2 winning, 2 losing, so yes, you keep having 50-50 win-loss distributions. However, there are 2 factors playing, while flipping 1 coin only has 1 factor. This makes a difference in the short run.
Shooting at myself, but switching seats can even cause the reverse effect: NS having more HCP, but my side having an average of 20...

So again, yes, keeping fixed seats won't solve the winning and losing streaks. The point about being vulnerable and not vulnerable is another factor which cancels out in the long run. But keeping fixed seats WILL make you feel less robbed by BBO if you have a losing streak. Having a better feeling when losing is imo an improvement for BBO.
"It may be rude to leave to go to the bathroom, but it's downright stupid to sit there and piss yourself" - blackshoe

#42 User is offline   Codo 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:games and sports, esp. bridge,chess and (beach-)volleyball

Posted 2009-June-19, 03:18

Frederic,