• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

MAF

#1 User is offline   Flame 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2004-April-22, 19:01

HI
Does anyone here have some expirence with MAF of have an opinion about it ?

#2 User is offline   inquiry 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Interests:Bridge, what else?

Posted 2004-April-22, 19:25

MAF... hmm... majors always first. The logic, look for major fit first, since 5 of a minor is a longer way off. Misho and I use some of this concept in our auctions, but a few words of caution.

First, don't try to learn a new system like this without one or two other idio... er, students. It does you little good to learn a new system, if you have great problems finding someone to bid it with you (after I graduated college, I lost all three of my romex partners, and, each of them lost theirs too... so my ROMEX experiment didn't make it out of college.

Second, a system where all four 1 level bids are aimed at expressing the number of cards held in a major, well, should lead to a number of double dummy defenses against good opponents, and worse yet, the 1 and 1 opening bids are very susceptible to preemption, since these bids say nothing about the suit bid.

Other than that, MAF looks sort of fun, but realize all i have done is read the description of hte system from the link on Dan Neill's webpage, so I have absolutely no experience with it.

Ben
--Ben--

#3 User is offline   Flame 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2004-April-22, 20:40

Actually this MAF isnt too crazy, it doesnt give that much credit to the major as one could think reading the name, infact i lately i thought of some major first system structers and all of them are giving much more credit to the majors then maf.