• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Why not electronic hand records?

#1 User is offline   Mike_P 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2006-August-16, 06:16

By way of introduction, I'm relatively new to duplicate and the ACBL so am still a stranger in a strange land. So be gentle. :lol:

I've begun to attend newcomer duplicate events at local clubs and am having a great time. But so much of it seems so 20th Century. :lol: Usually there are match results on the walls reaching the floor (produced by dot-matrix printers on fan-fold paper) -- reminds me of the output of my Altair years ago. :P

At the end of the evening's play, in addition to giving me my own copy of the dot-matrix printout, I'm also given a sheet of paper with the "hand records" of the evening. In some cases, the hand records are also available online at the club site, usually in .pdf format.

Why in the world is the latter not routinely available electronically (either by download or email) in a popular computer-readable format (.pbn for example?) so I can immediately replay the hands on GIB, Bridge Baron, Jack, etc.? I must be missing an important issue -- this seems to me to be a no-brainer and drop dead easy, espcially given how many smart folks play the game and given how much automation there is already online.

As far as that goes, with today's technology I don't quite understand why we're frantically trying to maintain board by board personal scoring with a lead pencil. Isn't that information on the scorecard and (with admittedly more data entry needed by the club manager of course) this too could be attached electronically and automatically?

Any insight welcome. Thanks.

-- Mike

#2 User is offline   P_Marlowe 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2006-August-16, 08:20

Hi,

simple answer: the demand for an electronic
form is low, the demand may rise, but currently
it would only be a nice to have.