• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Bermuda Bowl And The VuGraph

#1 User is offline   pbleighton 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2003-November-15, 14:35

I have never used the VuGraph before.
I will let more knowledgeable people (and those who watched more of the match than I did) comment on the match itself. My personal observations as an intemediate watching these great players:
1) Boy, do I have a long way to go :)
2) Even experts guess wrong, and make obvious errors (not just the last board)
3) What a terrible end to a great event.
4) Thanks loads to Fred et al!

Peter

#2 User is offline   inquiry 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Interests:Bridge, what else?

Posted 2003-November-15, 16:32

Vugraph's are great, and this BBO final match was unbelievable, as the score indicates: 1 imp difference. It was a shame it ended this way.

It is clear everyone makes mistakes, even the world very best players, as we saw here... they just make a whole lot less than all the rest of us.
--Ben--

#3 User is offline   JRG 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2003-November-15, 17:12

I wouldn't call the last hand the one that won or lost the match. We have a natural tendency to do that, but there were lots of other boards.

I think the hand the Italians will remember is the one in which Duboin played 6S redoubled and went down one when he could have made it. Rodwell & Meckstroth played in 4S making an overtrick.

That was 12 IMPs.

Having said that, the last board was a pity. I'm sure Soloway will dream of it often, wishing he had led the 10 of hearts. All the players were tired by that time.
JRG

#4 User is offline   csdenmark 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2003-November-15, 19:08

Vugraph's are great, and this BBO final match was unbelievable, as the score indicates: 1 imp difference. It was a shame it ended this way.