• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Bidding - Convention (Query)

#1 User is offline   Lesh18 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2012-February-18, 21:17

Hi guys

I am new to bridge, have completed the ACBL course for beginners, but I am still stuck with the bidding bit.
It is obvious that it is bidding what makes bridge such a complex game.

1) Do I understand it correctly, that Acol or Standard American are both convention systems, and Blackwood or Stayment are conventions on its own? So those systems contain numerous conventions, and it is also possible to add or remove or even make up my own conventions?

2) Is there any convention system suitable for very beginners?

3) Which kind of Contract bridge do you recommend for a casual play? ACBL course teaches me to bid depending on whether I am to score a game, partial or slams. But in Rubber bridge there are no bonus points for scoring a game one one deal, so the bidding system ACBL teaches (Standard American) might be quite pointless with rubber bridge. What do you think? Is Chicago just a duplicate for 4 players?

4) Is it possible (and legal?) to play bridge without conventions? Just using commong sense? I bid 1Club when I feel strong with clubs (however strong) and if my opponent is also strong with clubs, he might respond with 2Club

My questions probably seem basic to you, but I really need to know the answers to get better in the game
Thank you

Lesh

#2 User is offline   barmar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2012-February-18, 22:14

View PostLesh18, on 2012-February-18, 21:17, said:

1) Do I understand it correctly, that Acol or Standard American are both convention systems, and Blackwood or Stayment are conventions on its own? So those systems contain numerous conventions, and it is also possible to add or remove or even make up my own conventions?