BBO Discussion Forums: I can't sign into BBO - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

I can't sign into BBO help!

#1 User is online   jillybean 

  • hooked
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 7,462
  • Joined: 2003-November-15
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Vancouver #1 city in the world :)
  • Interests:Bridge, skiing

Posted 2007-July-06, 23:07

Is BBO down at the moment? When I try to login I get the 'logging in please wait' message and then 'connection lost Reconnecting' My internet seems fine
Searching for your own mistakes is the only way to learn this game. - Fluffy

And no matter what methods you play, it is essential, for anyone aspiring to learn to be a good player, to learn the importance of bidding shape properly. - MikeH

SLOW DOWN! This is not a speedball :)
0

#2 User is offline   Elianna 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,348
  • Joined: 2004-August-29
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Silicon Valley, CA

Posted 2007-July-06, 23:46

jillybean2, on Jul 6 2007, 09:07 PM, said:

Is BBO down at the moment? When I try to login I get the 'logging in please wait' message and then 'connection lost Reconnecting' My internet seems fine

I was just able to sign-on. Are you sure your internet is ok? Keep your network status indicator open while you try logging on, and see what happens.
My addiction to Mario Bros #3 has come back!
0

#3 User is online   jillybean 

  • hooked
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 7,462
  • Joined: 2003-November-15
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Vancouver #1 city in the world :)
  • Interests:Bridge, skiing

Posted 2007-July-07, 00:13

Hmmm I can sign in using my laptop but not my PC, both are using wirless.
Searching for your own mistakes is the only way to learn this game. - Fluffy

And no matter what methods you play, it is essential, for anyone aspiring to learn to be a good player, to learn the importance of bidding shape properly. - MikeH

SLOW DOWN! This is not a speedball :)
0

#4 User is offline   paulg 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,766
  • Joined: 2003-April-26
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scottish Borders

Posted 2007-July-07, 02:29

Are both systems using the same server port setting?

I've had problems with port 80 this morning.

(If you do not understand the question then you have probably not edited the bbover.ini file and they will be the same, so you can ignore this).
0

#5 User is offline   zielona 

  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: 2006-July-07

Posted 2007-July-07, 03:05

Hello

I am currently experiencing identical problem on both my laptops. It started few (~5?) hours ago.

Don't remember in which config file the port number is specified but I went as far as re-installing BBO on my vista laptop. That would set the port to the default would it? Still no joy.
0

#6 User is offline   Jangvik 

  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 2003-February-20
  • Location:Somewhere in chilly Sweden

Posted 2007-July-07, 03:13

Same problem here. But I refuse to change any settings because my settings have worked for years now. As a programmer I don't change anything that works!
I assume something has happened on the server side that hopefully will be fixed within a short time.
"If there is a Hell, then it will consist of being at PO's table while he makes three overtricks in 2 redoubled. Slowly." - David Burn
0

#7 User is offline   uday 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 5,765
  • Joined: 2003-January-15
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 2007-July-07, 07:11

Hmm

i work here. Sorry about that. Port 80 won't work until I make a fix ( I understand the problem and am hunting for a clean solution)

Meanwhile, please do this

edit this file

c:\bridge base online\bbover.ini

change

ServerHostName1=bbo.bridgebase.com
to
ServerHostName1=sat.bridgebase.com

That should get you back in business while I sort this all out.

If you care, the issue is:

a new release of some bit of our software had the effect of disabling conns on port 80. This slipped by our testing. The change above points you at a machine that is still running the older code (which works with port 80)

Of course, if you can try port 9999 first (using the bbo.bridgebase.com hostname) that would be even better

#8 User is offline   julie5607 

  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: 2003-February-14

Posted 2007-July-07, 07:12

Had identical problem since about 11 Eastern time last night. Edited my bbover.ini port line back from 80 (had changed it due to system hangs and lags) to 9999, problem solved. Now the question is what caused it, and should I edit back to 80 once whatever happened is fixed?

Julie

sorry - looks like I posted this at exact time as Uday posted his fix. Since this fixed it for me will wait to hear about editing port back to 80.
0

#9 User is offline   uday 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 5,765
  • Joined: 2003-January-15
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 2007-July-07, 07:16

If it works for you with the default settings of

ServerHostName1=bbo.bridgebase.com
ServerPort1=9999

Leave it that way.

Some people need to change the port to 80 if they are in an environment that blocks/throttles port 9999

What caused it was a software upgrade we performed yesterday.
The upgrade caused port80 connections to stop working.

There is a temporary workaround ( change hostname to sat.bridgebase.com).

#10 User is offline   zielona 

  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: 2006-July-07

Posted 2007-July-07, 09:00

I'm back in business on both laptops after changing to sat.bridgebase.com, thanks Uday!

Just in case that helps with the permanent solution:
1) I had port 9999 in the bbover file all the time. I tried to use 80 briefly earlier today in an attempt to fix the problem but that didn't work and I changed back to 9999 straight away.
2) I disconnected one of the laptops from the cable and dialled up to a friend's dialup server (totally different ISP). BBO worked fine.

thanks again :)
0

#11 User is offline   keylime 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: FD TEAM
  • Posts: 2,718
  • Joined: 2003-February-13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Miami, FL, USA
  • Interests:Motorsports, cricket, flag football, hiking and of course - bridge. :-)

Posted 2007-July-09, 17:00

Uday,

Thank you for this - I was going NUTS here thinking my config was screwed up.
"Champions aren't made in gyms, champions are made from something they have deep inside them - a desire, a dream, a vision. They have to have last-minute stamina, they have to be a little faster, they have to have the skill and the will. But the will must be stronger than the skill. " - M. Ali
0

#12 User is offline   rumorek1 

  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 2007-July-10

Posted 2007-July-10, 04:56

The same problem ;)
Tried to change port form 9999 to 80 - doesn't work
Tried to ping BBO serwer - answer was "request timed out"

Please HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELP
0

#13 User is offline   Jangvik 

  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 2003-February-20
  • Location:Somewhere in chilly Sweden

Posted 2007-July-10, 05:13

Changing to sat.bridgebase.com did the trick.
Thanks Uday for quick answer.
"If there is a Hell, then it will consist of being at PO's table while he makes three overtricks in 2 redoubled. Slowly." - David Burn
0

#14 User is offline   Ant590 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 629
  • Joined: 2005-July-17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK

Posted 2007-July-31, 03:41

Hi,

I was wondering if the two access routes:

ServerHostName1=bbo.bridgebase.com
ServerPort1=9999

and

ServerHostName1=sat.bridgebase.com
ServerPort1=80

are still working as per this thread on July 10th? I've recently moved to a new network and the people running it are trying to help me get BBO working (thanks guys :P )and I just wanted to confirm that the issue is this end.

Is there anything I should be asking them in particular to look for/change in their settings? I've told them that "BBO makes a single outbound connection on TCP port 9999 to bbo.bridgebase.com" as per the FAQs.

My issue is that I'm getting the blue bar saying "Logging on. Please wait..." and then nothing happens for a while and I get the box saying "Connection lost. Reconnecting..." then finally after half an hour or so I get a grey box saying "The connection with Bridge Base Online has been lost. Please long in again. (0)".
0

#15 User is offline   skorchev 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 166
  • Joined: 2004-May-09
  • Location:Suvorovo, Bulgaria

Posted 2007-August-04, 02:05

uday, on Jul 7 2007, 03:16 PM, said:

If it works for you with the default settings of

ServerHostName1=bbo.bridgebase.com
ServerPort1=9999

Leave it that way.

Some people need to change the port to 80 if they are in an environment that blocks/throttles port 9999

What caused it was a software upgrade we performed yesterday.
The upgrade caused port80 connections to stop working.

There is a temporary workaround ( change hostname to sat.bridgebase.com).

I think there is the same problem again. Yesterday everything was fine, now I can't log in. "Logging on. Please wait..." -> "Connection lost. Reconnecting...".

My settings are:
ServerHostName1=sat.bridgebase.com
ServerPort1=9999

I tried with port 80 and bbo.bridgebase.com, but it doesn't work.
BE COOL!
0

#16 User is offline   zielona 

  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: 2006-July-07

Posted 2007-August-04, 02:54

skorchev, on Aug 4 2007, 03:05 AM, said:

I think there is the same problem again. Yesterday everything was fine, now I can't log in. "Logging on. Please wait..." -> "Connection lost. Reconnecting...".

Agree, same here. Both ports, sat.bridgebase.com and bbo.bridgebase.com.

This time I can't see if it's just me or everyone because recent tournaments don't display either (on http://web04.bridgeb...ory/index.html).

A different problem?
0

#17 User is offline   Walddk 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,190
  • Joined: 2003-September-30
  • Location:London, England
  • Interests:Cricket

Posted 2007-August-04, 03:06

I think it's a general problem at the moment (09:05 GMT). The BBO server has been down since approximately 07:45 GMT. I have notified the administrators. All we can do is wait and hope that the problem will be resolved shortly.

Roland
It's nice to be important, but it's more important to be nice
0

#18 User is offline   skorchev 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 166
  • Joined: 2004-May-09
  • Location:Suvorovo, Bulgaria

Posted 2007-August-04, 03:09

Walddk, on Aug 4 2007, 11:06 AM, said:

I think it's a general problem at the moment (09:05 GMT). The BBO server has been down since approximately 07:45 GMT. I have notified the administrators. All we can do is wait and hope that the problem will be resolved shortly.

Roland

OK, thanks!
BE COOL!
0

#19 User is offline   Aberlour10 

  • Vugrapholic
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,846
  • Joined: 2004-January-06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:At the Rhine River km 772,1

Posted 2007-August-04, 03:13

not to be able to log in makes my saturday morning bad B)

let's hope :o

Robert
Preempts are Aberlour's best bridge friends
0

#20 User is offline   Walddk 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,190
  • Joined: 2003-September-30
  • Location:London, England
  • Interests:Cricket

Posted 2007-August-04, 03:19

Aberlour10, on Aug 4 2007, 11:13 AM, said:

not to be able to log in makes my saturday morning bad B)

let's hope :)

Robert

I suggest that you walk your dog, even if you don't have one. If nothing else, it's good for your heart :o

Roland
It's nice to be important, but it's more important to be nice
0

Share this topic:


  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users