BBO Discussion Forums: Transfer after opening 1M? - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Transfer after opening 1M? A claim I can't verify

#1 User is offline   svengolly 

  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: 2012-April-01
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2024-April-08, 17:39

Someone on Facebook is claiming that GIB treats the following sequence as a transfer (no interference). GIB is the responder below:

1S 1N
2N 3D*

*xfer to hearts

I've honestly never heard this or run into it in actual play. Standard methods say this shows a 6-card suit and a hand not suited for NT.

Anyone know for sure?
0

#2 User is offline   johnu 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,891
  • Joined: 2008-September-10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2024-April-08, 18:18

That is correct. I just got that sequence.

The description of 3 is

Transfer -- 5+ ;
2- ; 6-11 HCP;
12- total points

GIB has a lot of unusual treatments that have probably been there since day 1.
0

#3 User is online   smerriman 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,854
  • Joined: 2014-March-15
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2024-April-08, 19:10

Yes, GIB plays transfers after 1M - 1N - 2N, and always has. It's one of the rare occasions where its system choice is better than what I would have expected - the treatment is part of Bridge World Standard:

Quote

One of a major — one notrump — two notrump is invitational; responder's continuation of three of a suit other than opener's is a transfer.

Sadly, it doesn't do it after other 1 level responses though, which would have been great :(
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users