• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Managing Entries to Events Confused about the rules

#1 User is offline   rstenson 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2021-March-14, 16:34

Hi
As an experienced director , with Corvid around us, I am just beginning to manage events. I have only read read the simple set up instructions issued by BBO. We are playing simple Mitchel movement with a good number of tables
I am confused about the management of Entries.

If I set up an Include list I am under the impression that if players are not on it they can not register for events.

Also in the Player tab there is a concept of followers and I can see how follower status is managed.
When setting up a tournament it is our practice at the club to :"Include only players followed by the host".

It is also common practice when club members who have not applied to be followers log on and try to enter one of our events, once bona fides have been established
it is the club's practice to delete the above restriction just before starting the event and the player registers.

As no one has done anything about this players presence on the Include list I don't understand why these players can play.

Can any one explain to me the interaction between these two sets or rules or at least point me to some material which explains it.
Roger Stenson

#2 User is offline   kenjay 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2021-March-15, 07:29

Hi Roger,
I have 3 different lists.
1) No restrictions, open to anyone
2) An "Include players followed by host" list. Everyone on this list can register.
3) "Include" Custom list" list. Everyone on this list can enter.
Option 3 can be used where you wish to restrict players who are on list option 2. For example you may wish only beginners, etc to this list.

#3 User is offline   paulg 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2021-March-15, 08:14