BBO Discussion Forums: Advice on what I should bid here (ACOL) - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Advice on what I should bid here (ACOL)

#1 User is offline   DComedian 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2021-March-10, 19:13

Hi, I'm a relative newbie (well returning to the game after nearly 40 years!)

I had this hand last night, and wondered what I should bid after West bids 2 spades? Neither side was vulnerable.

I think my options are pass, double and 3H? Thoughts anybody?

PS Apologies if I've posted this in the wrong topic heading...as I said, I'm a newbie :)

#2 User is offline   akwoo 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2021-March-10, 20:04

This depends on your partnership agreements/tendencies.

The 12-14 1N opening system I play is Kaplan-Sheinwold-derived, not Acol, and the tendency in K-S is for pass to include 15-16 balanced, which suggests bidding 3H with this hand, though with such a good defensive hand, pass could work.

OTOH, it seems to me from this forum that the tendency in Acol is for double to include 15-16 balanced, which suggests you pass with this hand. Note that, if double includes 15+ balanced, then pass implies an unbalanced hand and therefore at least a 5th heart.

In this auction, where responder has already shown some values, it really doesn't matter much which way you play, but there is consistency with the rest of the system to consider. (And, as for which way is better for the rest of the system, each has its pluses and minuses; if there's a difference it's that one way is better on 3% of boards and the other is better on 2.5%, so you should just play the way that's more intuitive for your partnership.)

#3 User is offline   manudude03 

• - - A AKQJT9876543
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2021-March-10, 20:06