• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Swiss not Danish

#1 User is offline   pilun 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2020-December-26, 05:09

I'm not a programmer.

I'm surprised that BBO code hasn't been written to run a proper Swiss Pairs or Teams.
Must be hard to check for repeats before doing the draw.

Today I ran a 12 table "Swiss" Pairs (6 x 8 bds) on BBO with pre-entry. One pair didn't make it, so I filled in with robots.
(Better than human subs for a 6 hour event)
Anyway, the pair who played the bots in round 1, played them again in round 5. They didn't much like that. Many find the instantaneous play off-putting.
That was one of four repeats in the event.
The bot-replaying pair had a midfield draw in round 5 and - lo and behold - had to play them again in round 6! Fed up, they were about to leave.
Luckily I was able to scrounge some human players.

Every scoring program can handle a Swiss. Can somebody explain why it is so hard for BBO?

#2 User is offline   kenjay 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2020-December-26, 08:20

View Postpilun, on 2020-December-26, 05:09, said:

I'm not a programmer.

I'm surprised that BBO code hasn't been written to run a proper Swiss Pairs or Teams.
Must be hard to check for repeats before doing the draw.

Today I ran a 12 table "Swiss" Pairs (6 x 8 bds) on BBO with pre-entry. One pair didn't make it, so I filled in with robots.
(Better than human subs for a 6 hour event)
Anyway, the pair who played the bots in round 1, played them again in round 5. They didn't much like that. Many find the instantaneous play off-putting.
That was one of four repeats in the event.
The bot-replaying pair had a midfield draw in round 5 and - lo and behold - had to play them again in round 6! Fed up, they were about to leave.
Luckily I was able to scrounge some human players.

Every scoring program can handle a Swiss. Can somebody explain why it is so hard for BBO?