#1 User is offline   hrothgar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Travel
    Cooking
    Brewing
    Hiking

Posted 2020-October-28, 06:03

So, looks like BBO screwed the pooch with respect to the General Data Protection Regulations and some cheating cases had to be tossed as a result.

Nice job!
Pity you didn't choose to listen when folks pointed these issues out to you years back.

FWIW, I'm going to offer some free legal which is worth every penny you're paying for it.

Please note: I am not a lawyer, however, Akamai spends a lot of time / effort dealing with GDPR related issues and my team is the one that gets to deal with a who bunch of this so we get to spend lots and lots of time getting training on this front.

Moreover, Akamai sells services like "Client Reputation"
https://www.akamai.c...-reputation.jsp

We profile IP addresses on the internet and make determinations whether they are "good" or "bad" which is directly analogous to a lot of what's going on with BBO and Personally identifiable Information.

The critical issue here is making sure that BBO establishes that they have legitimate purpose for collecting and sharing Personally Identifiable Information and this purpose requires the ability to share information with Data Processors.

Once you go and do this, build the appropriate disclosure into your privacy statements, and provide appropriate controls over the information in question, you're golden.

You can collect all sorts of information and use this for any one of a variety of purposes.

Hopefully, BBO won't overreact and stop collecting any of this information.
Alderaan delenda est

#2 User is offline   thepossum 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2020-October-28, 17:44

Hi Richard

Can you please clarify for the layman like me whether this means I should find a different Bridge Site to play on