BBO Discussion Forums: Totally inadequate GiB response to weak 2 - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Totally inadequate GiB response to weak 2 A clear game (or more) raise missed

#1 User is offline   thepossum 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 749
  • Joined: 2018-July-04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 2020-September-16, 00:40

Hi all

I was under the impression that when bidding weak 2s you left the decision on the contract largely up to responder

This is rather sad, even in my book. Using my rather crude use of the losing trick count with 4 trumps and only 5 losers, even in response to a weak two you are in game and even slam territory

regards P




EDIT. I just ran a quick sim and the chance of game was only 80% or so so maybe not suitable for a raise at IMPs. I am, however impressed that it bid 3 though, given that the chance was only around 98% of making it
0

#2 User is online   smerriman 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,756
  • Joined: 2014-March-15
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2020-September-16, 02:34

Was this with an advanced robot? Basic GIB bids 4 as you'd expect. Maybe an "advanced" robot had a simulation meltdown which happens from time to time..
0

#3 User is offline   thepossum 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 749
  • Joined: 2018-July-04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 2020-September-16, 02:38

View Postsmerriman, on 2020-September-16, 02:34, said:

Was this with an advanced robot? Basic GIB bids 4 as you'd expect. Maybe an "advanced" robot had a simulation meltdown which happens from time to time..


It's a basic bot in casual IMP play

How about 2NT or is that off after a double. Anything really
0

#4 User is online   smerriman 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,756
  • Joined: 2014-March-15
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2020-September-16, 02:46

You can confirm at a practice table what GIB is programmed to do (and consistently does):


So if this happened in the main bridge club then it must have been some sort of server error rather than related to GIB.

What happened at the other tables?
0

#5 User is offline   thepossum 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 749
  • Joined: 2018-July-04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 2020-September-16, 02:52

View Postsmerriman, on 2020-September-16, 02:46, said:

You can confirm at a practice table what GIB is programmed to do (and consistently does):


So if this happened in the main bridge club then it must have been some sort of server error rather than related to GIB.

What happened at the other tables?


Will check but from memory around half of us had this outcome. Other tables had different non-bot players or different opening bids such as pass

If I had a decent weak two I would have raised
0

#6 User is online   smerriman 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,756
  • Joined: 2014-March-15
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2020-September-16, 02:58

Found it. So consistently replicated at other tables..

.. in that case I'm baffled, since barmar has definitively stated the basic robots don't simulate during the auction. So it shouldn't be possible for them to ever consistently come up with a different bid from a bidding table..
0

#7 User is offline   thepossum 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 749
  • Joined: 2018-July-04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 2020-September-16, 03:09

View Postsmerriman, on 2020-September-16, 02:58, said:

Found it. So consistently replicated at other tables..

.. in that case I'm baffled, since barmar has definitively stated the basic robots don't simulate during the auction. So it shouldn't be possible for them to ever consistently come up with a different bid from a bidding table..


Thx for checking. Was wondering if the double affected things but with that hand. ...
0

#8 User is online   johnu 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,732
  • Joined: 2008-September-10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2020-September-16, 12:05

Looks OK to me. Nothing wrong with a little downgrading by North. Well done to get to spades instead of hearts.
0

#9 User is online   johnu 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,732
  • Joined: 2008-September-10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2020-September-16, 12:08

View Postsmerriman, on 2020-September-16, 02:46, said:

So if this happened in the main bridge club then it must have been some sort of server error rather than related to GIB.

I like that excuse. I'm going to use it the next time I make an inexplicable bid or play.
0

#10 User is offline   thepossum 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 749
  • Joined: 2018-July-04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 2020-September-17, 00:13

View Postsmerriman, on 2020-September-16, 02:58, said:

Found it. So consistently replicated at other tables..

.. in that case I'm baffled, since barmar has definitively stated the basic robots don't simulate during the auction. So it shouldn't be possible for them to ever consistently come up with a different bid from a bidding table..


I checked a bidding table too and the robot bid 4 spades. I think my basic bot plays at that table too??

I wonder what was going on. A different bot, end of a long day etc
0

#11 User is offline   thepossum 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 749
  • Joined: 2018-July-04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 2020-September-17, 19:34

Just in case anyone is interested I put the hand into a few other good computer bridge programs> I won't name which ones. Two of them came up with a splinter by north or some other kind of encouraging (keep going) kind of bid anyway :)
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users