BBO Discussion Forums: myhands site: opening links in new tab - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

myhands site: opening links in new tab

#1 User is offline   DJNeill 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 424
  • Joined: 2003-September-07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hillsboro, OR USA
  • Interests:current events, long-distance cycling

Posted 2020-August-18, 11:43

Hi,
I have tested only in Chrome but on multiple machines. It seems like now a link in myhands opens by default in a new tab. It used to pop out in its own viewer window I think. The advantage to that is you can easily keep your place in the original search because clicked links have a different color. Now, it replaces the search and when you click back to see the next hand, you have to spend time figuring out where you left off. You can middle-click a link with a mouse (or right-click...open in new window) to try to keep the original window but it might not consider the link clicked in those cases. In case there was a change here and it was not meant to change this, I am voting for the previous behavior.

Thanks,
Dan
0

#2 User is offline   barmar 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 20,534
  • Joined: 2004-August-21
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2020-August-21, 09:16

There hasn't been any change to this. Make sure you have JavaScript enabled, it uses that to open the popup viewer.

#3 User is offline   DJNeill 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 424
  • Joined: 2003-September-07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hillsboro, OR USA
  • Interests:current events, long-distance cycling

Posted 2020-August-21, 13:27

Thanks for the fast response. I checked Edge and Firefox, same behavior (though I had never tried those before with this, not sure if that is new). Javascript is enabled on all browsers (https://www.whatismy...ascript-enabled)
0

#4 User is online   pescetom 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,965
  • Joined: 2014-February-18
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Posted 2020-August-21, 13:42

View Postbarmar, on 2020-August-21, 09:16, said:

There hasn't been any change to this. Make sure you have JavaScript enabled, it uses that to open the popup viewer.


I too think something changed.
I am more comfortable with a new tab but haven't really thought about advantages or disadvantages.
What I do dislike is that clicking 'Traveller' cannibalizes the original tab instead of opening a new one like 'movie' does.
0

#5 User is offline   smerriman 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,995
  • Joined: 2014-March-15
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2020-August-21, 14:17

For some reason the myhands page is trying to load the necessary scripts through http:// rather thsn https://, so they're being blocked as insecure.
0

#6 User is offline   barmar 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 20,534
  • Joined: 2004-August-21
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2020-August-26, 17:16

Found the problem.

We recently reconfigured our webservers to redirect all HTTP connections to HTTPS. But myhands was trying to load the JavaScript files using HTTP, and browsers block this combination.

This should be fixed now.

#7 User is offline   DJNeill 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 424
  • Joined: 2003-September-07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hillsboro, OR USA
  • Interests:current events, long-distance cycling

Posted 2020-August-26, 19:36

Thank you!
0

#8 User is online   pescetom 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,965
  • Joined: 2014-February-18
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Posted 2020-August-27, 15:12

View Postbarmar, on 2020-August-26, 17:16, said:

Found the problem.



Could you also look into why 'Traveller' behaves differently to 'Movie' ?
Thanks.
0

#9 User is offline   barmar 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 20,534
  • Joined: 2004-August-21
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2020-August-31, 16:09

View Postpescetom, on 2020-August-27, 15:12, said:

Could you also look into why 'Traveller' behaves differently to 'Movie' ?
Thanks.

Traveller is just an ordinary link, it doesn't have extra code that makes a popup window.

If you want to open in a new window, use Control-click (Cmd-click on Mac).

#10 User is offline   DJNeill 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 424
  • Joined: 2003-September-07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hillsboro, OR USA
  • Interests:current events, long-distance cycling

Posted 2021-January-14, 07:54

View Postbarmar, on 2020-August-26, 17:16, said:

Found the problem.

We recently reconfigured our webservers to redirect all HTTP connections to HTTPS. But myhands was trying to load the JavaScript files using HTTP, and browsers block this combination.

This should be fixed now.


I think this is happening again, starting today (not yesterday).
0

#11 User is offline   barmar 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 20,534
  • Joined: 2004-August-21
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2021-January-14, 12:54

View PostDJNeill, on 2021-January-14, 07:54, said:

I think this is happening again, starting today (not yesterday).

I can't reproduce the problem today.

#12 User is offline   DJNeill 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 424
  • Joined: 2003-September-07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hillsboro, OR USA
  • Interests:current events, long-distance cycling

Posted 2021-January-15, 09:59

View Postbarmar, on 2021-January-14, 12:54, said:

I can't reproduce the problem today.

Ah ok, yeah, it's just my browser - doesn't happen in incognito tab or Firefox, I'll clear the cache etc, thanks!
Looks like the Bridge Solver extension if enabled causes this to happen (I had just added it, didn't realize it could have such an effect).
0

#13 User is online   pescetom 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,965
  • Joined: 2014-February-18
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Posted 2021-January-15, 12:22

View Postbarmar, on 2020-August-31, 16:09, said:

Traveller is just an ordinary link, it doesn't have extra code that makes a popup window.

If you want to open in a new window, use Control-click (Cmd-click on Mac).


Ok, can live with Control-click.
I see you also fixed the inconsistency between Movie and Traveller then Movie. Thanks.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users