Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Is 4C forcing?

#1 User is offline   barmar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2020-August-06, 14:15

I was south and I thought 4 was invitational, my partner intended it as forcing; I passed with an 11 count including Jxx. We missed a game that most pairs bid, and slam is cold barring extreme distribution.

My thinking was that 3 would be merely competing, showing a normal opening with a club fit. 4 is stronger than that, but not forcing. If he wants to force to game he can cue bid 3 or just bid game. I had nothing more than my original 2 bid showed, so I thought I'd shown my hand.

We don't play Minorwood, so 4 was natural.

#2 User is offline   FelicityR 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2020-August-06, 14:39

I would play it as forcing as partner's jumped, but there again I am no expert with specified bids at this level. Yes, 3 would be obviously forcing, too, but that's implying a completely different message about the hand.

#3 User is offline   AL78 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Bridge, hiking, cycling, gardening, weight training

Posted 2020-August-06, 15:05

I would assume it is forcing absent any specific agreement. It looks to be setting clubs as trumps and expressing slam interest, inviting a cue bidding sequence. 3 would be game forcing but fishing for 3NT as a contract. I think you and your partner have to discuss when cue bids of opponents suits are forcing raises, and in the sequence given, what would double mean?

#4 User is offline   mikeh 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge, golf, wine (red), cooking, reading eclectically but insatiably, travelling, making bad posts.

Posted 2020-August-06, 16:02

As in so many cases, how one plays it can be subject to discussion and agreement. Absent such a discussion, here’s how I’d reason: