BBO Discussion Forums: How do I know if a stranger's bid is a transfer? - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How do I know if a stranger's bid is a transfer?

#1 User is offline   CeciD 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2020-May-01, 10:56

I am a beginner and don't have a regular partner. I also don't know a lot of the "conventions". When I play in person with my parents, after partner's one no trump open, responder says "transfer two hearts" to mean he has good spades. Online you can't see what your partner is saying. How do I know if that two hearts meant 0-7 pts, 5+ hearts or good spades? I don't think partner can explain bid to me, right, just to opponents? If in doubt, what would you assume? When playing solitaire the computer tells me what each bid means. Wish we could have that in the relaxed room if the whole table agreed to it :). Is there a website online to learn conventions, hopefully free?

#2 User is offline   pescetom 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2020-May-01, 11:15

View PostCeciD, on 2020-May-01, 10:56, said:

I am a beginner and don't have a regular partner. I also don't know a lot of the "conventions". When I play in person with my parents, after partner's one no trump open, responder says "transfer two hearts" to mean he has good spades. Online you can't see what your partner is saying. How do I know if that two hearts meant 0-7 pts, 5+ hearts or good spades? I don't think partner can explain bid to me, right, just to opponents? If in doubt, what would you assume? When playing solitaire the computer tells me what each bid means. Wish we could have that in the relaxed room if the whole table agreed to it :). Is there a website online to learn conventions, hopefully free?