Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Math stuff But I had to post this

#1 User is offline   kenberg 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2020-March-18, 08:16

Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis have been chosen to share the Abel prize in mathematics.

https://www.nytimes....athematics.html

and

https://www.jpost.co...of-Maths-621414

This brings me back to my mathematical childhood.

I was a grad student in math at the University of Minnesota in the early 1960s when I learned of this new prof they had hired, Harry (aka Hillel) Furstenberg. He is three years older than I am, he was already a prof, and quickly promoted to full prof. That wasn't enough to keep him, he soon moved to Hebrew University in Jerusalem.

Here is a quote from the second link:

When one of his earliest academic papers was published, rumors circulated that 'Furstenberg' wasn't a person, but a pseudonym for a group working together, as his colleagues couldn't understand how it could be that one person could pull wide-ranging ideas from many different areas together.

This is a fine description. He would state a theorem to be proved and then outline perhaps three different ways of proving it, each coming at it from a different conceptual angle, all three approaches described clearly. I had never before seen anything like this.

One more quote:
"Hillel is not only a world-class mathematician but a mensch and mentor to scores of students who have already changed the face of mathematics. We couldn't be prouder of his award, a Nobel-level achievement."

Absolutely correct.

There is a lot of stuff going on right now, for me this was great news to wake up to.

Ken

#2 User is offline   pilowsky 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2020-March-18, 16:14

It's a privilege to know people like this. You are very lucky. I have met a few: it's a very humbling experience.
Non legit hoc

#3 User is offline   thepossum