BBO Discussion Forums: Misinformation - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Misinformation I would have doubled

Poll: Would you double 6 spades? (21 member(s) have cast votes)

If 3 spades shows a 6-card suit

  1. Yes (9 votes [42.86%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 42.86%

  2. No (11 votes [52.38%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 52.38%

  3. Other (1 votes [4.76%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 4.76%

If 3 spades shows precisely 5 cards.

  1. Yes (6 votes [28.57%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 28.57%

  2. No (14 votes [66.67%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 66.67%

  3. Other (1 votes [4.76%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 4.76%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 User is offline   nige1 

  • 5-level belongs to me
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 8,066
  • Joined: 2004-August-30
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow Scotland
  • Interests:Poems Computers

Posted 2020-February-05, 17:53


Scottish European Trials. IMPS -> VPS. 1st board of decisive match.
Preliminary poll.

0

#2 User is offline   FelicityR 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 675
  • Joined: 2012-October-26
  • Gender:Female

Posted 2020-February-05, 23:58

Irrespective of whether the opponents had misinformed you during the bidding, the last thing you want to do is to alert them that 6 is the wrong contract and for them to run to 6NT. If they are in the wrong contract and your teammates are in a makeable one, it's going to be a good result whatever happens. Another +50 isn't going to make a great deal of difference at IMPs or VPs.
7

#3 User is offline   pran 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 5,114
  • Joined: 2009-September-14
  • Location:Ski, Norway

Posted 2020-February-06, 01:46

View PostFelicityR, on 2020-February-05, 23:58, said:

Irrespective of whether the opponents had misinformed you during the bidding, the last thing you want to do is to alert them that 6 is the wrong contract and for them to run to 6NT. If they are in the wrong contract and your teammates are in a makeable one, it's going to be a good result whatever happens. Another +50 isn't going to make a great deal of difference at IMPs or VPs.

And a double might even cost a trick (or two?) because it will alert West of the unfavorable spade situation.
2

#4 User is online   helene_t 

  • The Abbess
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 15,965
  • Joined: 2004-April-22
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Hamilton, New Zealand

Posted 2020-February-06, 02:52

I would double anyway. If it's two down and the same contract (or 6nt) is bid at the other table, it matters if it is doubled.

I am not too worried that they escape to 6nt. All suits break badly for them so I will wack 6nt also.
... most of the new ideas I get are pretty "boring", mostly focusing on constructive methods rather than destructive ones --- Kungsgeten
0

#5 User is offline   gordontd 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,252
  • Joined: 2009-July-14
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 2020-February-06, 07:09

View Posthelene_t, on 2020-February-06, 02:52, said:

I would double anyway. If it's two down and the same contract (or 6nt) is bid at the other table, it matters if it is doubled.

I am not too worried that they escape to 6nt. All suits break badly for them so I will wack 6nt also.

+1
Gordon Rainsford
London UK
0

#6 User is offline   nige1 

  • 5-level belongs to me
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 8,066
  • Joined: 2004-August-30
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow Scotland
  • Interests:Poems Computers

Posted 2020-February-06, 07:44

View Posthelene_t, on 2020-February-06, 02:52, said:

I would double anyway. If it's two down and the same contract (or 6nt) is bid at the other table, it matters if it is doubled. I am not too worried that they escape to 6nt. All suits break badly for them so I will wack 6nt also.


Would it make a difference how many declarer has shown?
0

#7 User is offline   jules101 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 163
  • Joined: 2008-March-06

Posted 2020-February-06, 08:48

Not sure this is very meaningful when the auction presented here is incorrect.

3C* was an enquiry, and alerted, not NAT.

And the next two bids listed in your diagramme are also incorrect!

This may not make a difference to how people vote in the two polls of course, but if posting a hand where ruling was requested, and then went to AC then please ask your source to give you the correct info!

Best wishes from the TD at this event.
0

#8 User is offline   Cyberyeti 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 10,679
  • Joined: 2009-July-13
  • Location:England

Posted 2020-February-06, 09:19

View Postnige1, on 2020-February-06, 07:44, said:

[/size]

Would it make a difference how many declarer has shown?


The auction makes no sense (or are they playing 2/1?) but as the director says it's wrong.

Yes, I would double if declarer had shown 6, but I don't want the situation where dummy has HJ9 or J9x and declarer now hooks the 9 first round.

Very curious blackwooder doesn't ask about the Q.
1

#9 User is offline   nige1 

  • 5-level belongs to me
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 8,066
  • Joined: 2004-August-30
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow Scotland
  • Interests:Poems Computers

Posted 2020-February-06, 11:04

View Postjules101, on 2020-February-06, 08:48, said:

Not sure this is very meaningful when the auction presented here is incorrect. 3C* was an enquiry, and alerted, not NAT. And the next two bids listed in your diagramme are also incorrect! This may not make a difference to how people vote in the two polls of course, but if posting a hand where ruling was requested, and then went to AC then please ask your source to give you the correct info! Best wishes from the TD at this event.
Sorry, Julia :( Thank you :) Please post the actual auction and I'll correct my OP.
I'm told that ...
- 3 was alerted as showing 5. This was misinformation because, systemically the bid promised 6
- North informed the director that he would double with correct information.
Intriguing questions are ...
- how likely is double if 3 shows 6?
- how much difference does the misinformation make?
- In this kind of case, should the director give a weighted ruling?
0

#10 User is offline   pescetom 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,674
  • Joined: 2014-February-18
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Posted 2020-February-06, 13:34

View PostCyberyeti, on 2020-February-06, 09:19, said:

Very curious blackwooder doesn't ask about the Q.


I would double on the lack of ask about Q alone - it's clear that they don't know what they are doing if this part of the auction is correctly reported.
0

#11 User is online   helene_t 

  • The Abbess
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 15,965
  • Joined: 2004-April-22
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Hamilton, New Zealand

Posted 2020-February-06, 17:37

View Postnige1, on 2020-February-06, 07:44, said:

[/size]

Would it make a difference how many declarer has shown?

I bit. Double is safer if declarer has shown 6+ as they are less likely to be able to finesse against me with only 2 (sometimes 1) trump in dummy.

But I would double even if declarer showed 5.
... most of the new ideas I get are pretty "boring", mostly focusing on constructive methods rather than destructive ones --- Kungsgeten
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users