BBO Discussion Forums: Unsolved problem - GIB's leaps to slam - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Unsolved problem - GIB's leaps to slam

#1 User is offline   zhasbeen 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:bridge, running, spectator sports, excel, keeping track of all kinds of stuff

Posted 2019-December-29, 11:39

This ‘leap to slam off 2 aces’ variation has happened dozens, if not hundreds of times, since I started playing here 2 years ago. I know there have been at least 4 occurrences within the past week, and this is just one category of a wide range of GIB problems.

With hands like this I have a choice of playing a partial or selling out to opponents when I have a cold game. In this instance I cannot play 5 diamonds. It is just not right!
I know all the regulars have seen this movie before--what I’m really looking for is a ray of hope that there is some plan for improvement, either in the form of new robots or for meaningful fixes of Gib’s more serious.

So far I’ve gotten nothing more than “this is as good as it gets", "take it or leave it, etc.” I'm not easily discouraged. Is there even a ray of hope?

https://tinyurl.com/vv5e8ps

#2 User is offline   nullve 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:partscores

Posted 2019-December-29, 11:51

The jump to 5 isn't the problem?

#3 User is offline   zhasbeen 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Interests:bridge, running, spectator sports, excel, keeping track of all kinds of stuff

Posted 2019-December-29, 12:20

View Postnullve, on 2019-December-29, 11:51, said:

So, what would you do, nullve?

#4 User is online   smerriman 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2019-December-29, 13:29

With GIB's system, given you're happy to play in 5 opposite no aces, why wouldn't you just bid 4NT, so that you can sign off in 5 opposite no aces?

#5 User is offline   zhasbeen 

• PipPipPipPip

Posted 2019-December-29, 13:31