BBO Discussion Forums: Unusual 2NT - a few queries - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

Unusual 2NT - a few queries

#1 User is offline   thepossum 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2019-June-22, 04:29

Hi all

I recently had this hand, called an unusual 2NT (Im not very experienced using it) and ended in 5 Diamonds rather than a part score which would have been preferable. The reason being that North cue bid hearts rather than simply bidding their best minor - playing IMPs

What do you think the pros and cons are given that the 3rd level major cue bid leaves very little room to decide on a part score, possible 3NT or possible minor game

I didnt really want to bid to game, although it only went one down, and certainly didnt want to bid 3NT (I thought about it). 3NT goes down a few tricks

I felt on reflection that both the 2NT and the 3H cue bid used up far too much space before we even knew we had a likely part score or minor game, and no room to be sure of chancing a 3NT game

P

#2 User is offline   FelicityR 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2019-June-22, 05:38

At this vulnerability this hand looks just about perfect for an Unusual 2NT. That's my honest opinion. Others may see it differently.

Partner will know about both minor suits as opposed to just one if you decide to overcall a minor instead - something I would be wary of given that you have another bid that perfectly describes your hand.

If you overcall one minor, then if the opponents raise s you partner will not know about the other minor.

#3 User is offline   Stephen Tu 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2019-June-22, 10:26

At some point advancer has to cue rather than bid 3m, because 3m promises neither values nor real fit. I don't think cue can promise specifically diamonds; it has to show decent hand for one minor or both minors. Overcaller shouldn't bid beyond 4c with a min.