BBO Discussion Forums: Late spade bid - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Late spade bid 2/1 ACBL

#1 User is offline   dickiegera 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 486
  • Joined: 2009-July-12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 2019-April-02, 07:22




At his point South states that 1NT bid was wrong and should have been 1
South did have 7 spades in her hand QJ10xxxx.

Director was called and allowed bidding to continue.




Is this ruling correct? 5 was -300

Thank you
0

#2 User is offline   gordontd 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,128
  • Joined: 2009-July-14
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 2019-April-02, 07:52

Clearly the comment provides UI, but in order to rule it would be necessary to poll players with the North hand and see what they would do over 4H in the absence of UI. Even if they Pass, the TD should consider whether South might have now bid 4S. Somebody should tell South that she could have corrected her 1NT bid if she had said something before her partner called, but having failed to do that she shouldn't say anything at all.
Gordon Rainsford
London UK
1

#3 User is offline   Cyberyeti 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 9,884
  • Joined: 2009-July-13
  • Location:England

Posted 2019-April-02, 08:21

I think there is very little UI here, the subsequent spade bidding says he has 6 or 7 spades, the only info it gives is that he might have more (or less) values than 1N would indicate.

Gordon is of course right but I doubt there would be any adjustment.
2

#4 User is offline   barmar 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 18,174
  • Joined: 2004-August-21
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2019-April-03, 09:26

In addition, the player should be educated that they are not required to tell anyone when they've misbid, and should especially not do this during the auction or while they're defending. The only time you can say anything is if you realize you've made an unintended call during the short period when correcting it is allowed. And if you're not sure what that period is, you should call the TD without stating the reason, so you can find out your rights before giving too much UI (there will be some UI from the fact that you needed to call, but partner will have to guess what it means).

#5 User is offline   blackshoe 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 16,391
  • Joined: 2006-April-17
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 2019-April-03, 18:40

Seems to me this is a good educational opportunity, and probably no more than that, although I do wonder... is "I have very little UI" akin to "I'm only a little bit pregnant"?
--------------------
As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean
0

#6 User is offline   Cyberyeti 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 9,884
  • Joined: 2009-July-13
  • Location:England

Posted 2019-April-04, 02:41

View Postblackshoe, on 2019-April-03, 18:40, said:

Seems to me this is a good educational opportunity, and probably no more than that, although I do wonder... is "I have very little UI" akin to "I'm only a little bit pregnant"?


Not exactly, you can clearly have UI, but it can have no effect in that there is nothing suggested by it.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users