BBO Discussion Forums: Personal stories about bridge experiences - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Personal stories about bridge experiences

#1 User is offline   thepossum 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2019-February-25, 18:05

Dear all

I was inspired to write this by another site I have a profile on where you can put your favo(u)rite bridge memory in your profile. I would be very interested in amusing, happy or traumatic anecdotes especially when things have gone wrong

I have played for many years however my first experience of a "serious" bridge club was not a happy one. Back in the 90s in my late twenties, me and a friend thought we would find a local bridge club and have a few enjoyable evenings playing in a club. So we went to our local club, a very respectable area full of very respectable people.

We walked into the club and asked if it was ok for us to play casually in duplicate. They said of course but the intimidation and psych games started the moment we walked in. I've never experienced such behaviour from mostly respectable middle aged people, many would have been teachers and academics

Firstly people started mocking the casualness of my friends clothes (he was a student). At our first table while we were setting up the boards one of our opps mocked me for turning the board around and said "can you not read upside down" with a sneering voice. She harangued me over how long it took to fill the boards

Anyway, we played a few tables, a few reasonable hands, a few disasters, going from table to table hearing the obnioxious mockery of so called respectable people. Laughing and talking - oh we havent played them yet etc with a laugh

Around half way through the session it was the last of the hands at a table. My partner made a bid I didn't understand but thought was weak. My RHO asked what it meant. I said I thought it was weak. She doubled. It was strong