BBO Discussion Forums: General query about point ranges and bidding 2/1 - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

General query about point ranges and bidding 2/1

#1 User is offline   thepossum 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2019-February-11, 20:38

Dear all

Since I've been using 2/1 for the last 8 months this is primarily about that system but this applies to many systems. I understand systems like precision try to get around it from my limited understanding. It relates to problems with the very broad range of low level responses (especially 1 over 1 sequences)

Consider the following sequence

1D-1H-1S

This allows opener to have 4+ D and 4+ S with 11+ HCPs, 12-18 points
Responder can have almost anything 4+ hearts with a huge point range from about 6 upwards since the 1 over 1 precludes a game force. The maximum of the 1 H bid would be 5+ H with 16+ points (Soloway?)

Therefore there is still a very difficult decision for responder to make with low-midrange hands and a spade fit. The responder with a fit could pass the 1 S not thinking there is enough to proceed or raise to 2S and come up against the bottom of openers range

Therefore this sequence allows anything from 1 S to 4 S and onwards or even a 1NT-3NT

What is the best way of dealing with this and evaluating the hand.

Suppose you have 7-8 hcps,4H 4S, approximately 8 losers. OPener surely can have 12-18 hcps and a weak or strong enough for game hand?

P

#2 User is offline   helene_t 

• The Abbess
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2019-February-11, 20:51

Hi Possum,

With a spade fit you bid
2: 6-9
3: 10-11
4: 12-14
stronger: FSF and then spades

So you use FSF with game forcing hands that need more information to decide on strain, as well as with hands that are too strong to leap to game immediately.

This is the common approach in most modern systems with wide-ranging 1-level openings, and is not limited to 2/1.