Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Rudeness What can be done?

#1 User is offline   1920jam 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2018-December-22, 14:11

I am a beginner/novice and have witnessed and been the recipient of very rude, abusuve remarks. A favourite is IDIOT. BBO is an incredible opportunity for brudge lovers of all levels to play with thousands of people around the world. Why are some extremely angry, rude people allowed to say such terrible things? If a person is frustrated, then just quietly leave the table...which is what most do BUT can’t something be done about the people making nasty, hurtful remarks?

#2 User is offline   nige1 

• 5-level belongs to me
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Poems Computers

Posted 2018-December-22, 15:11

1920jam, on 2018-December-22, 14:11, said:

I am a beginner/novice and have witnessed and been the recipient of very rude, abusuve remarks. A favourite is IDIOT. BBO is an incredible opportunity for brudge lovers of all levels to play with thousands of people around the world. Why are some extremely angry, rude people allowed to say such terrible things? If a person is frustrated, then just quietly leave the table...which is what most do BUT can't something be done about the people making nasty, hurtful remarks?

On-line, rudeness is rife and is condoned in Bridge play -- and in most discussion-groups (other than Bridge-winners). In face-to-face Bridge, rudeness is less common but when it occurs, I've never witnessed a director impose a disciplinary penalty. At International level, when world-class players openly accuse their opponents of cheating. directors just tell them to play on, without sanction. Perhaps the game of Bridge attracts unpleasant people.

#3 User is offline   pescetom 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2018-December-22, 15:39

nige1, on 2018-December-22, 15:11, said: