BBO Discussion Forums: Possible limitations of 2/1 - BBO Discussion Forums

• 3 Pages +

Possible limitations of 2/1

#1 User is offline   thepossum 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2018-October-30, 00:55

Dear all

I'm relatively new to SAYC and even newer to 2/1 (6 months or so) after years of ACOL. The major problem I seem to have sometimes is that 2/1 can limit responses or even rebids sometimes compared to systems that aren't game forcing at 2/1 level. I know there is the forcing NT etc but sometimes I would like to bid suits at 2-level without going via NT and other times I occasionally find my rebids somewhat constrained too. I'm not experience enough to know about documented limitations and ways around it, and wish I had some more specific examples but I am learning using the GIB CC, 2/1 books and sites, and the GIB bid descriptions and often feel quite stuck for a bid. YOu either have to take a gamble and push your hand 3 or more points or sometimes risk missing a good contract by being cautious and playing by the convention. One issue I really have is that I often feel I am pushed or left in NT trump cpntracts rather than exploring suits enough. That is my biggest concern and I seem to have missed many beautiful suit (particularly minors) due to the obsession with majors and NT

any thoughts from 2/1 proponents or critics

regards P

PS I am trying to play full GIB 2/1 in the robot games
PPS I'm not trying to make excuses for my play limitations but I would rather be in a good easy minor game (or even slam) than a tricky 3NT with problem entries and strange distributions that may make many overtricks. Ive observed that on many occasions. Top hand is a minor slam versus 3NT + 3/4

#2 User is offline   dokoko 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:Bidding System Design
    Walking my dogs
    2 player Hanabi

Posted 2018-October-30, 01:14

I like to play 2/1 structures.