BBO Discussion Forums: Etiquette on tables - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

Etiquette on tables

#1 User is offline   thepossum 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2018-October-19, 23:10

Dear all

I'm putting this here since I'm a beginner at the BBO clubs (not bridge or clubs) and jumping in and out of tables with no discussion or agreement on conventions. I was recently discussing a few bids with a partner who plays a different system to me and an op got the huff that I didn't bid quickly enough stormed off and sent a very rude private message. This was in the relaxed club.

Surely as in any bridge club you are entitled to agree a convention with your partner or at least a few important calls before hand. Surely on something like BBO after a hand you are entitled to discuss a misunderstanding from the previous hand openly with partner in front of ops. And also to take a bit more time between hands.

How on earth do all these people play with each other without agreement on bids and/or getting upset with ops discussing their convention. BBO seems to be full of silent angry people with no social skills, even in the relaxed club. It's hard to find relaxed casual people.

Thanks
The Possum

PS Whatever happened to introductions, saying typ, gl, wpp, wpo etc. What is wrong with the world now

#2 User is offline   The_Badger 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge, Chess, Film, Literature, Herbal Medicine, Nutrition

Posted 2018-October-20, 03:00

You're absolutely right, possum, especially so in the Relaxed Club where chit-chat and discussion should be encouraged. Given that many Australian and new Zealand players still play Acol (which I see from your profile that you do) why don't you given The Acol Bridge Club (Public) on BBO a go. I have no idea if it busy in the evening on your side of the world, but it has quite a few tables operating during evening hours in the UK.

#3 User is offline   pescetom 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip