• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Novice Experiences

#1 User is offline   legony 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2018-August-26, 06:31

Hi all,

I am a novice bridge player. I’ve only been playing for 8-9 months. I play fairly often with intermediate/advanced players at work during lunchtime. It’s a very casual, encouraging environment. Two of those players play duplicate at clubs regularly. Even though I am a novice, my coworkers recommended that I give duplicate a shot since there are two 0-20 MP evening games the area.

So, for the past 4-5 weeks, I’ve been attending, and enjoying myself! I honestly didn’t think I would like to play at a club. The 0-20 MP community is very encouraging and enjoyable; I find that other novices are just like me - they want to learn and become better. I’ve been arriving solo and get partnered up with another novice looking for a partner. So far so good!

Recently, since there wasn’t an extra person to partner up with me, I played with the beginners coordinator at the club. He suggested I play on a Saturday morning at a club that he manages. I told him I have ZERO MPs, but he said it’s no problem because there’s a 0-500 game and he’ll pair me up with another person looking for a partner.

So, I decided to give it a shot. I should probably mention that I am a 36 year old female and I was the youngest person by at least 15 years. I was paired up with an 80 year old man who was a really good player. I was told he was aware I am a novice. We had a chance to talk and he seemed to be encouraging.