BBO Discussion Forums: My fault I guess but advice requested - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

My fault I guess but advice requested

#1 User is offline   bilalz 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2018-April-13, 02:01

p

I was sitting North. Went down one after good play by my p.
Catalog of mistakes and optimisms from me I guess. Chose to support with 3 cards, my two honors and the poor spades as the excuse.
In my defense I am new to the art of controls and was not sure if my 5 was slam forcing. I figured P would stop in 5 if he does not have the other control in clubs and there is a high chance that our losers in spades are only one due to my doubleton.

So please let me have it. Where should I have stopped? Pulled to 4 after 4. Is my hand not worth the diamond control? If I pull to 5 after 4, does partner not complain that slam was missed because he was worried about a second diamond loser? He has no space to ask for queen of trumps either so I have to take that into account myself.

Is partner blameless? I did limit my hand to a maximum of 14 HCPs and my 12 are not the worst. Would a queen of spade really make a difference to my hand? Partner could make slam if he has King of spade instead of jack. Denying him diamond control would put him in 4nt, followed by 5 from me and maybe a queen ask from him or an expectation to pull his 5h to slam with the queen.

Thanks for your input.

#2 User is offline   Tramticket 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2018-April-13, 02:34

I am not wholly against raising with three-card support, but in this case you would be wiser to show your balanced shape with a 1NT rebid (if your NT range is 15-17).