BBO Discussion Forums: finessing dummy - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

finessing dummy

#1 User is offline   kasharic 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2018-January-06, 06:22

Hi.
I have a quick query on this hand. West opens with 5 and dummy plays 7. What is East's best play here? From what I understand, the usual play would be to insert the 10, but would this be an occasion to not finesse dummy given the length in hearts? Clearly the best play is the King, but would this be an occasion where the percentage play (the 10) is unfortunate?

Thanks for any feedback (I'm still learning, so go gentle!).

#2 User is offline   pescetom 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2018-January-06, 07:45

We'll be gentle with you, but not with your friend in South ;)

#3 User is online   Cyberyeti 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2018-January-06, 10:23

What do you think partner's holding is to lead the 5 ? Assume he'd lead top of doubleton and wouldn't lead a singleton.

Looks like he has at least 3.

If he has 4, declarer has a singleton, K is clearly better or no worse than 10.

If he has 3 the holdings that might matter are Qxx/Axx in the first case doesn't matter (same with xxx if you lead small), in the second you need to play the K.

So 10 never gains.

#4 User is offline   mcphee 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2018-January-07, 03:44

You made a good point about your choice. Here its a bit different as partner has at least 3H, therefore the K is best as you can not block the suit.

#5 User is offline   kuhchung 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2018-February-05, 16:21

Also interesting is if dummy has Qx. When he plays small, it is STILL right to go up K. If declarer had Ax, he would've put up the Q. Declarer playing small with Qx opposite Jx is the only chance to get you to go wrong.
Videos of the worst bridge player ever playing bridge:
https://www.youtube....hungPlaysBridge

#6 User is offline   rmnka447