• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Viking Club

#1 User is offline   Syl20 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2005-April-27, 02:06

Hi,

I am studying for pleasure the Viking Club from Groetheim & Sontag and i find it is very powerfull for slam bidding.
Although it requires practice and some memory for shape showing (a lot of symmetry in it), I am not sure what it's worth for game invitational hands and part scores thus I am interested to know what you think of that system.
Any of you tried it ? :P

Sylvain
Sylvain

#2 User is offline   Chamaco 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Chess, Bridge, Jazz, European Cinema, Motorbiking, Tango dancing

Posted 2005-April-27, 02:23

You can limit the use of the Viking Relay to GF auctions only (strong club auctions and 1M:1NT, 1D:1H, 2C:2D), and rely on more natural schemes over invitational hands (via 2C) and other partscore sequences.

Luis plays Viking Club.
"Bridge is like dance: technique's important but what really matters is not to step on partner's feet !"

#3 User is offline   Wiste1 

• PipPip

Posted 2005-April-27, 03:59

Hi

I have played Viking Club, with success.
A very nice system but of course its allways something u dont agree with.

What i dont like is 1nt=gf relay after 1major opening, of course is a nice tool but i like 1nt for other hands.

But most important is that u need a regular p to discuss and bidding a lot with
Wiste

#4 User is offline   luis 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2005-April-27, 08:23

I've been playing Viking for some time so right or wrong here's my view: