BBO Discussion Forums: hand help needed - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

hand help needed playing high from second seat

#1 User is offline   kasharic 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2017-August-27, 06:22

Hi all. As a relative beginner, I'd very much appreciate your thoughts on this scenario.
It's taken from a robot IMP match. Playing the 3NT contract, I and most other tables ended up 2 off. The 4 was led, I played 3, and east won with the 8.
On a couple of other tables, however, I noticed the declarer played Q from dummy. Even though east won with the ace, the 4 was returned.
My question is: is there a good reason why to play high from dummy (e.g. perhaps to give the impression that the king is held in hand) - or is this simply a play against the robot (and should not be replicated in real play)?
Thanks in advance :)

#2 User is offline   manudude03 

• - - A AKQJT9876543
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2017-August-27, 06:26

The answer to why people play the queen is simply because West might have led low from AKxxx meaning that the queen will win the trick if it is played immediately. The contract should go 2 down regardless.

Edit: Note that if you play small from dummy, East should play the ten. Some people do miss that part.
Wayne Somerville

#3 User is offline   kasharic 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2017-August-27, 07:23

View Postmanudude03, on 2017-August-27, 06:26, said:

The answer to why people play the queen is simply because West might have led low from AKxxx meaning that the queen will win the trick if it is played immediately. The contract should go 2 down regardless.

Edit: Note that if you play small from dummy, East should play the ten. Some people do miss that part.

Thanks for the reply. Why would East play the ten and not the Ace? Also, isn't it safer for declarer to hold onto the queen, it keep it as a probable stopper? Ta again :)

#4 User is offline   Vampyr 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip