BBO Discussion Forums: BUG: Worst lead ever in World History?? - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

BUG: Worst lead ever in World History??

#1 User is offline   Stefan_O 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 469
  • Joined: 2016-April-01

Posted 2016-August-10, 18:36

Posted Image

Bug in the card-play engine, for a change...
0

#2 User is offline   ahydra 

  • AQT92 AQ --- QJ6532
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,834
  • Joined: 2009-September-09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wellington, NZ

Posted 2016-August-11, 03:34

I've seen worse - there was a wonderful hand (http://tinyurl.com/bsflb27) where GIB refused to lead a cashing ace against a redoubled grand slam, then found itself triple-squeezed out of the ace during the play.

At least East had the sense not to double if he knew he wasn't going to lead the AK. :ph34r:

ahydra
0

#3 User is offline   Stefan_O 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 469
  • Joined: 2016-April-01

Posted 2016-August-11, 03:42

Horror Stories Hall of Fame...

:)
0

#4 User is offline   Stefan_O 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 469
  • Joined: 2016-April-01

Posted 2016-August-11, 07:33

And BBO really needs to look into and find+fix the root-cause here.

If the simulation before the lead worked as intended, none of these should have happened.

How many other flawed leads does Gib do, that are not as obvious as these two?
0

#5 User is offline   johnu 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,262
  • Joined: 2008-September-10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2016-August-11, 09:04

View Postahydra, on 2016-August-11, 03:34, said:

At least East had the sense not to double if he knew he wasn't going to lead the AK.


Can't double since the "wrong" robot is on lead. FWIW, sometimes there is no"right" robot.
0

#6 User is offline   ahydra 

  • AQT92 AQ --- QJ6532
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,834
  • Joined: 2009-September-09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wellington, NZ

Posted 2016-August-11, 09:12

View Postjohnu, on 2016-August-11, 09:04, said:

Can't double since the "wrong" robot is on lead. FWIW, sometimes there is no"right" robot.


East with the AK is on lead (6NT is being played by North).

ahydra
0

#7 User is offline   iandayre 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,111
  • Joined: 2013-December-23
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2016-August-11, 10:18

Not the worst, since we've all seen it before. Some time ago, BBO made a change to get GIB to cash an Ace against a grand slam in NT. They neglected to have it cash an AK against a small slam, and that remains uncorrected.
0

#8 User is offline   Stefan_O 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 469
  • Joined: 2016-April-01

Posted 2016-August-11, 11:27

View Postiandayre, on 2016-August-11, 10:18, said:

Not the worst, since we've all seen it before. Some time ago, BBO made a change to get GIB to cash an Ace against a grand slam in NT. They neglected to have it cash an AK against a small slam, and that remains uncorrected.


If the simulation was correctly implemented, it should of course come out right in those cases, regardless.

Fix the bug there instead, and you dont need to keep fixing every new special-case you forgot, one-by-one as they get discovered.

This is proof there is at least one bug in the simulation-code, and as I wrote,
how do we know how many other, less obvious, mis-plays in defense by Gib are caused by this?

There have been some other pretty suspicious cases reported here before, but much harder to say with certainty if they were bugs, or "just the way simulation works", etc.
0

#9 User is offline   Stefan_O 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 469
  • Joined: 2016-April-01

Posted 2016-August-11, 11:37

View PostStefan_O, on 2016-August-11, 11:27, said:

There have been some other pretty suspicious cases reported here before, but much harder to say with certainty if they were bugs, or "just the way simulation works", etc.


Here one such example, that comes to mind:

http://www.bridgebas...-playing-server
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users