• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

player skill rank player skill rank

#1 User is offline   mightyky 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2014-May-22, 21:08

I have played cards all my life. I have been playing bridge for less than two years. I play once or twice each week with some friends. We play "party bridge". We play for fun and entertainment. I don't like and will not play duplicate....it is not fun for me.
I play here online and show my skill level in my profile as a beginner. I don't want to misrepresent my skill level to other players. I think I am probably at least an experienced beginner. I can play the cards very well, but have trouble bidding correctly.
I have played with people here with various skill levels and I think many of them are much better players than me.

What is the criteria used to determine the skill level?
Thanks, George

#2 User is offline   straube 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2014-May-22, 23:35

http://bridgewinners...ing-your-level/

by Gavin Wolpert

Beginner: Someone who has just undertaken the overwhelming task of learning the game. Perhaps had 1 series of lessons or have read a book and have very little playing experience.

Novice: Has learned a few basic conventions, stayman, blackwood, jacoby transfers. Still not comfortable taking tricks and has trouble knowing what a lot of basic bids mean.

Intermediate: Aware of a few more conventions, such as Jacoby 2NT, 4th suit forcing, new minor forcing. Can handle SAYC. Uses attitude signals on defense but only in basic situations. Has a grasp of when bids are forcing and when are not. Has a grasp on most common auctions but hasn't developed strategy beyond following the rules they know.